Candidates file for school board, city, Extension district offices

Updated: Jul 22, 2021

MOUND CITY – Thirty-three Linn County residents filed to run for school board, city or extension board offices by yesterday’s June 1 deadline.

Because the number of people filing for each position did not exceed three in any of the races, a primary will not be necessary. Voters will cast their ballots for candidates on Nov. 2.

In the Prairie View Unified School District race, incumbent Rita Boydston is seeking to retain her post in District 5, and current board president Wade Teagarden has filed to retain his post in District 6. No one filed for the District 4 seat, which represents the Linn Valley area.

Candidates for the three open, at-large seats on the Pleasanton USD 344 Board of Education include Leslie Dumcum, Kaye Hardy, Cindy Spence Inman, Meredith L. Johnson and Jonathan M. Raines. Inman is an incumbent, but two board members who hold the other open seats did not file.

Megan Purvis and Matt Higgins will be seeking to be the representative for the District 5 seat on the Jayhawk USD 346 Board of Education. That seat is currently held by Angie Cummings.

Tracy Springer was the only person to file for the District 4 seat she now holds, and incumbent Ketturah “Kitty” Rhynerson was the only one to file for the District 6 position. Daniel Earnest filed to complete the unexpired term for District 1.

In city council races, David Brenneman, Thomas W. Capp and Keith Stoker filed to run for three seats on the La Cygne council. Capp and Stoker are incumbents.

Cindy Smith filed to retain her post as mayor of Linn Valley. Lewis Donalson and Michael Hemphill filed for council posts. Donalson is an incumbent, and Jason Jenkins, whose term ends in January, did not file for the seat.

Megan Purvis, Fanchion Shadden and Cody Beckman filed to run for the city council in Mound City.

In the Pleasanton council race, Aaron Portman, Rochelle Schreckhise and Joseph Whitaker. Portman and Whitaker are currently on the council, and Council Member Chris Ellis did not file for re-election. Three seats are open in that race.

In the Blue Mound City Council race, three incumbents filed to fill council seats for another term. Byron Coates, Paul Moeller and Donnie Rhynerson are all vying to retain their seats.

Parker City Council incumbents Gary Earley and Jerry Summers filed to retain their seats. There are three seats up for election this cycle.

Kevin Wood filed for the mayor’s post in Prescott. Incumbents Ronald W. Roberts and John Maloney filed for the two city council seats that will be up for election this year.

And Kendra Browning and Treva Broyles filed for the two seats on the Marais des Cygne Extension District board.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All