Jayhawk receives state award for student achievement

Kansas State Board of Education Chairman Jim Porter presents the Challenge Award certificate to Jayhawk Elementary School teachers, from left, Lisa Avery, fifth grade ; Christina Spencer, third grade; and Alysha Schafer, second grade. (Photo by Teresa Thompson)

MOUND CITY — The chairman of the Kansas State Board of Education made a surprise visit to Jayhawk Elementary School on Monday, April 18, to present the staff there the 2021 Challenge Award of Merit. Jim Porter represents District 9, which includes Linn County.

The Challenge Awards are given to schools for outstanding achievements and uncommon accomplishments based on state math and reading assessment results. It also takes into account other qualifying factors including the sample size, ethnicity and social-economic status of those taking the test.

Other factors that are considered include rates of absenteeism and the percentage of students who qualify for free or reduced-priced lunch. Only schools that have a total percentage of free and reduced-price lunch students above the state average of 46.14 percent are eligible for recognition.

Ninety-two schools throughout the state were selected to receive the award for 2021, according to the Kansas Department of Education website. JES was the only school in the county to receive the award.

46 views0 comments