top of page
  • Writer's pictureRoger Sims, Journal Staff

La Cygne Rural High School alumni meet for annual reunion

Updated: Jun 11, 2023

Cindy Stroup Kolich, La Cygne Rural High School class of 1967, catches up with friends at the school's reunion. (Photos by Roger Sims/Linn County Journal)

About 90 people, including nearly 70 alumni, attended the La Cygne Rural HIgh School annual reunion and luncheon on Saturday, May 27, at the La Cygne Library. Three classes were honored at the reunion: 1958, 1963, and 1968.

With alumni president Linda Andrew Stewart presiding over the activities, the reunion luncheon featured an invocation by Judy Long Patterson, the alumni singing the school fight song led by Kathryn Pease Nicholson, and Bob Curry singing “I Want to Stroll Over Heaven With You.”

Kathryn Pease Nicholson ('61) leads alumni in the school fight song.

Following the alumni treasurer’s report by Jane Prike Wade, Jane Leasure Coffel of the scholarship committee announced that the two recipients of the 2023 scholarships were Meadow Stainbrook and Samantha Watson.

Representing the nominating committee, Eugene Mendenhall made a motion that the current members of the alumni committee be retained, a motion that was overwhelmingly approved.

Veterans gather by the memorial on the northwest corner of the La Cygne Library. They included, front row from left, Jim Hathcock, Bob Stainbrook, Dave Long, John Driskill, Charlie Snitz, Nancy Feldman Heidrick, Jim Farris, Clayton Carothers; back row, Dale McIntosh, Bill Ross, George Teagarden, Charlie Maschler, and Doyle Hoyt.

Following a salute to the veterans who are alumni by Patterson, and the recognition of the classes, Glenna Francis Farris sang “Everybody is Somebody’s Fool.” Following closing comments by Stewart, Farris led group in singing “God Bless America.”

The lunch was served by members of the Cadmus 4-H Club.

Glenna Francis Farris sings a solo during the luncheon and would later lead the group in singing "God Bless America."

Members of the class of 1968 include, from left, Ronald Smith, Dorothy McGinnis Presson, Tom Sims.

Members of the class of 1963 include, front row from left, Judy Long Patterson, Barbara Irwin Baird, Linda Andrews Stewart; back row, Paulette Obermeier Curry, Carol Reece Creager, Judy Leasure Coffel, Mary Kuhn Snitz, Marvin Creager, and Gene Mendenhall.

Members of the class of 1968 include, front row from left, Jerry Long, Sandy Hopkins Ernst; back row, Jim Farris, Keith Nelson, and Lawrence Ernst.

Alumni committee officers include, seated from left, Paulette Obermeier Curry, president Linda Andrews Stewart, vice-president Ruth Ellen Carothers Stainbrook; standing, treasurer Jane Prike Wade, secretary Vickie McRae Fleming, vice president Judy Patterson Wier, vice president Artie White Stuteville, co-president Judy Patterson, and vice president George Teagarden.

Bob Stainbrook and his classmate Joan Scott Haupt, class of 1949, were the oldest alumni to attend the reunion.

Steve Lindsey, class of '61, auctions off pies following the luncheon.

Charlie Rhynerson, second from left, and Nancy Feldman Heidrick, second from right, are both alumni from the class of 1969, the last class to graduate from LRHS. They were accompanied by spouses Debby Rhynerson and John Heidrick.

21 views0 comments
bottom of page