top of page
  • Journal Staff Report

Linn County seniors earn Governor's Scholarship honors

Updated: May 26, 2022

Judah Skipper and Hallie Snyder were named as Kansas Governor's Scholars, an honor reserved for the top 1 percent of students in the state. The pair traveled to Topeka on May 1 to attend the award ceremony. (Photo by Aubin Skipper, Special to the Journal) Below, Corbin White also received the honor. (File photo)

TOPEKA – Three Linn County students have been named Kansas Governor’s Scholars, an honor reserved for the top 1 percent of students in the state. Five hundred forty students from across the state were given the honor.

Seniors Corbin White of Jayhawk-Linn High School, Judah Skipper of Pleasanton High School, and Hallie Snyder of Prairie View High School received the honor. Both Skipper and Snyder attended the presentation with Gov. Laura Kelly on May 1 and were able to meet the governor for a photo opportunity.

All three of the seniors have received top academic honors at their school as well, and all three have been selected as valedictorians of their respective schools. They are also all three members of the National Honor Society.

In a release, Gov. Kelly said, "These high school seniors have shown dedication in their studies and a commitment to learning. They've earned this honor, and I want to congratulate them on this achievement.

"We should also recognize their families, teachers and mentors for helping these outstanding students achieve their academic goals."

Skipper and White will graduate this Saturday, May 14, at commencement at Pleasanton and Jayhawk-Linn respectively. Hallie will graduate on Sunday, May 22, at Prairie View.

211 views0 comments
bottom of page