• Roger Sims, Journal Staff

Mound City alumni gather for annual banquet

Updated: Jul 15

More than 100 alumni and spouses were at Jayhawk Elementary School on Saturday to attend the Mound City High School's 62nd Annual Reunion. (Photos by Roger Sims, Linn County Journal)

Following a welcome by 2022 alumni president Katherine Neal Clay (1966), a reciting of the Pledge of Allegiance and an invocation by Brandon Clark, the attendees were treated to a meal catered by Chicken Mary's and served by the Mound City Christian Church youth.

Carol Laird Wood, secretary-treasurer (1970) introduced the six Jayhawk-Linn High School students who received alumni scholarships. They were Marissa Baldwin, Hunter Holt, Brooklyn Snow, Mollie Umphenour, Colton Wallace and Corbin White.

Following the introduction of the special classes – 1947, 1952, 1957, 1962, 1967, and 1972 – a roll call of classes was performed.

Clay then led a remembrance of those who passed away.

Following a brief business meeting, David Nickelson (1965) gave the closing prayer.

At right, Bonnie Jean New was the representative from the class of '47.

The Class of 1957 celebrated its 65th reunion at the event. The class was represented by, front row from left, Jean Lyons Vaughn, Correen Simpson Basore, Jennie Myers McKay; back row, Joan Vaugh Shroyer, Gary Geobel, Eddie Shasteen and Gail Goebel Cox.

The Class of 1962 members at the reunion included, front row from left, Robert Dingus, Marlys Simpson Field, Linda Ware McCarty, Velma Cline Peterson; back row, Eldon Lanham, Elbert Joe Charly, J.B. Scott, Jim Herrmann, and Elvin DeMott.

Judy Vaughn Poole, from left, Mary Augur Prince, Linda Austin Holt and Larry Holt represented the Class of 1967, which marked its 55th reunion.

The Class of 1972 celebrated its 50 year reunion. Those in attendance included, front row from left, Charles Leavitt, Joe Barnes, Cindy Clark Johnson, Sue Myer Stites, Linda Harlow Thornton, Lois Wright, Liz Scott, Susan McLaughlin Wichman; back row, Cliff Bilyeu, Greg Osborne, Roger Holt, Warren Rowe, Jim McNabb, Rod Bollinger, Dan Alexander, and Charles Self.

Officers for the 2022 reunion included Secretary-Treasurer Carol Laird Wood (1970), Membership Coordinator Verna Lee Scott Foerschler, President Katherine Neal Clay (1966), and, not pictured, Vice President Clayton Shotton (1963).

Mound City High School alumni scholarship recipients honored at the banquet included, front row from left, Marissa Baldwin, Molly Umphenour, Brooklyn Snow; back row, Colton Wallace, Corbin White, and Hunter Holt.

81 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Below is a summary of persons recently taken into custody by Linn County law enforcement officers and booked into the Linn County jail. All of the persons listed are presumed innocent until proven gui

MOUND CITY – On Monday, Nov. 7, the Linn County Commissioners heard the weekly reports from the fire and ambulance. American Medical Response (AMR) Operations Supervisor Galen Anderson reported that