top of page
  • Press release

Republicans, Democrats to vote in presidential preference primary

MOUND CITY – Kansas voters, including those in Linn County who are registered either as Republicans or Democrats, will have an opportunity to vote in the Presidential Preference Primary on March 19, 2024.

In a release on Tuesday, Feb. 13, Linn County Clerk David Lamb announced details of the presidential primary.

According to Lamb, both the Republican and Democratic state parties chose not to opt out of this “preference” primary that the Kansas Legislature chose to offer this year. In the past, the state parties have either held a caucus or chosen to have a state-run primary.

It is a “preference” primary because it is an election where the vote totals are given to a political party to allocate delegates to candidates at the national convention, according to Lamb. This is not a primary where the voters select the party candidate.

This year, the Legislature decided to resurrect the state-run presidential preference primary, which had only been used in Kansas in 1980 and 1992.

Candidates had to file to be on the ballot by Jan. 19, 2024. To file, candidates had to pay a $10,000 filing fee or present a petition with 5,000 signatures of registered Kansas voter of the applicable political party.

Candidate choices that will appear on the Democrat ballot will include:

• Marianne Williamson

• Jason Michael Palmer

• Dean Phillips

• Joseph R Biden, Jr.

• or a “none of the names shown above” option

Republican  choices will be:

• Donald J. Trump

• Nikki R. Haley

• Ron DeSantis

• Ryan L. Binkey

• or the “none of the names shown above” option

In Linn County, all of the regular polling places will be in use during this election except the Mound City/Stanton Township polling place will be moved back to the courthouse annex.

In-person advance voting will start in the Linn County Clerk’s office on March 5 and ends on Monday, March 18 at noon. 

Advance ballots by mail are sent out on Wednesday, Feb. 28 and completed ballots must be received at the clerk’s office by the close of the polls on March 19.                                                                                                                                                         

Each political party must notify the state secretary of state in writing on or before Jan. 16 who may vote in the party’s primary election. 

This is a one-time presidential preference primary. Should the Kansas Legislature choose to have another presidential preference primary in four years, it would take an act of the Legislature. Because of upcoming party deadlines, details may change. 

95 views0 comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page