top of page
  • Writer's pictureRoger Sims, Journal Staff

As June 1 deadline nears, candidates file for council posts

Updated: Jun 1, 2023

Every city in Linn County has council, mayoral, or both up for grabs in this year's election. (Photo illustration by Element5 Digital/Unsplash)

MOUND CITY – With the filing deadline to run for city council seats in all seven of Linn County’s cities is a little more than a week away, only a few candidates have filed to run.

The deadline to have filling paperwork and fees paid at the Linn County Clerk’s office is noon on June 1. In the event of a need for a primary, it will be held in early August with the general election set for Nov. 7.

So far, Linn Valley shows the most early filings with four candidates filing for three council seats as of noon on Monday, May 22. Incumbents John Weeks and Robert Suppenbach have filed to retain their seats on the council. Brenda Muncy is also an incumbent but has not filed to run as of Monday.

Challengers include Richard Gravelle, who is currently a member of the Prairie View USD 362 school board but has indicated he won’t run for that post in November. Connie Capps has also filed to be a candidate.

Three people are running for the mayoral post in La Cygne. Incumbent Debra Wilson has filed for re-election. She is being challenged by Councilman David Brenneman and former mayor Robert Sullivan.

Two La Cygne council posts are up for election as well, but as of Monday, no one had filed. Incumbents are Danny Curtis and Jerome Mitzner.

Only one person had filed for two of the open seats for the Mound City council as of Monday. Incumbent Lawrence Forbach filed to retain his seat. The other seat is currently held by Shayna Lamb.

The mayor’s post is also up for election in Mound City. Wade Doering is the incumbent.

Pleasanton’s mayoral post is also up for election this year, although no one had filed for the seat as of Monday. Mike Frisbie is the incumbent.

Two people have filed to run for the council seats currently held by Melanie Staton and Jake Mattingley. William “Bill” Skipper and Kenny Stark have filed to run for those seats.

In Parker, no one has filed for the open seats, whjch include the mayor’s seat and two council positions. Ashley Balthazor is currently mayor. As the council president last year, she was made mayor when the previous mayor resigned.

Jody Bloodgood and Jason Webber are incumbent members of the council. Webber was also appointed last year to replace Balthazor on the council.

Three people have filed for the Prescott City Council. Incumbents Rolland Grigsby, Zachary Gillis, and Daniel Norbury have filed for the three city council seats up for election this year.

Only incumbent Marri Krupco has filed in Blue Mound to retain her city council seat. Two council seats and the mayor’s seat are up for election this year.

62 views0 comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page