top of page
  • Writer's pictureJournal Staff Report

Prairie View's Quinn Browning elected state FFA secretary

Updated: Jun 4

Prairie View FFA member Quinn Browning, front row second from left, was elected state secretary for the 2024-25 year at the FFA state convention, which ran from Wednesday through Friday, May 29-31. Other officers elected included, front row from left, Zoe Rhodes from Girard, treasurer; Browning; Hayley Hines, Paola, vice president; Natalee Bray, Pike Valley, sentinel; back row, Mason Springer, Neodesha, reporter; and Jory Ratzlaff, Canton-Galva, president. (Kansas FFA Associaton Facebook)

MANHATTAN, Kan. — Prairie View FFA member, Quinn Brown, was elected to serve the Kansas FFA as its State Secretary for the 2024-2025 year at the Seventh Session of the 96th Kansas FFA State Convention on Kansas State University’s Campus.

Browning gave her speech at the Opening Session on May 29, and election results were announced on May 31.

Browning was involved in many different Career Development Events and has held various leadership positions in her local FFA chapter. Browning will be attending Kansas State University to major in Agricultural Education with the intention of becoming an agricultural educator.

“I will work to strengthen partnerships between the Kansas FFA Association and local businesses, farms and agricultural organizations. These partnerships can provide students with valuable networking opportunities, internships and scholarships, further enhancing their educational and career prospects.” Browning said in her officer application.

Browning is only the second Prairie View member to be elected to state FFA office. The last time that occurred was in 1974. That was when Prairie View alumnus Sam Brownback, former U.S. senator and Kansas governor, was elected state FFA president.

In addition to the election to state office, Browning also received the Built Ford Tough scholarship sponsored by the Ford Motor Co.

Piper Whildin, center, with PVHS FFA sponsors Trenton Smedley and Melisa Bertz, won the Equine Science Entrepreneurship Proficiency Award at the convention. She will go on to compete nationally.

Rhett Jackman won the State Proficiency Award winner in Turf Grass Management. He too will represent Kansas at the national level.

Creed Caldwell, here with parents Marcy and Matt Caldwell, was a proficiency finalist in Beef Production Entrepreneurship.

In all, 17 Prairie View FFA members were awarded Kansas State FFA Degrees, including this group of students. The students who received degrees are, front row from left, Kally Stroup, Rian Stainbrook Bree Allen, Kadance Shelton, Isabella Stolle, Ryleigh Lueker, Wylie Teagarden; back row, Kaylee Ring, Mary Jane Britz, Creed Caldwell, Gage Belcher, and Whitley Cox-Halliburton. Recipients who were not available for this photo include Sadie Ellis, Rebecca Miller, Madison Stahl, Colten McCrea, Alina Velez-Guillermo.

50 views0 comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page