top of page
  • Writer's pictureRoger Sims, Journal Staff

School board filings scant as filing deadline nears

Updated: Jun 1, 2023

MOUND CITY – With a little more than a week left before the June 1 filing deadline, only two people have filed to run for election for open seats on the school boards of Linn County’s three school districts. The deadline for filing at the Linn County Clerk’s office for school board elections is noon on June 1.

If necessary, a primary election will be held in early August and the general election would be Nov. 7.

For the Prairie View USD 362 Board of Education race, incumbent Russell Pope of Fontana has filed for the at-large post as of noon on Monday, May 22.

Other seats in that district up for election this year include District 1 currently held by Brad Heide, District 2 currently held by Brian Uphoff, District 3 currently held by Brian Lueker, and District 4 currently held by Richard Gravelle.

Earlier this year, Lueker was appointed to the District 3 post by the other members of the board to fill a vacancy left when Brad Stainbrook resigned his post to take a position as assistant softball coach. At that time, Lueker indicated he would be running for election this fall.

Gravelle, on the other hand, earlier this month said he would not run for the District 4 post. A Linn Valley resident, he was appointed to fill a vacancy last year after a previous board member resigned. He has filed to run as a candidate for the Linn Valley city council.

As of noon on Monday, no candidate has filed to run for the four open seats for the Jayhawk USD 346 Board of Education. Open seats include District 1 now held by Daniel Earnest, District 2 held by incumbent Leeroy Bryant, Max Kroll for District 3 and Brent Paddock for the at-large seat.

Jayhawk board Clerk Kayla McGrew said she expected several of the incumbents to file before the deadline.

Sam Davis is the sole candidate to have filed for one of the four open seats on the Pleasanton USD 344 board. All four seats are at-large posts. Current incumbents include Jay Allen, Tanner Ogden, Monica Sabine and Linda Conley.

61 views0 comments


Komentowanie zostało wyłączone.
bottom of page