top of page
  • Writer's pictureRoger Sims, Journal Staff

Eight Jayhawks inducted into National Honor Society

Eight Jayhawk-Linn High School scholars are inducted into the school's National Honor Society on Tuesday, April 4. The new inductees include, from left, Trenton Broyles, Brody Clark, Cynthia Cazares, Jacen Taylor, Kenzley Nation, Callie Holt, Brevin Mendenhall, and Cierra Lindsey. (Roger Sims/Linn County Journal)

Eight Jayhawk-Linn High School students were inducted into the school’s chapter of the National Honor Society (NHS) on Tuesday, April 4, in the school’s auditorium. Those inducted joined 13 students who had previously been inducted.

Following a welcome by Joel Schauf, the school’s NHS sponsor, and a video recording by Heath Peterson with the University of Kansas, the officers of the school’s chapter began the induction ritual that included lighting of candles that represent the four aspects of NHS membership: scholarship, leadership, character and service.

Chapter president Giavona Schneider, a senior, led the proceedings and she was assisted by junior Adison Randall, vice president and president-elect; senior Jaidyn Pointer, secretary/treasurer; and junior Bryton Spencer, secretary/treasurer-elect.

Those who were inducted included senior Cynthia Casares and juniors Trenton Broyles, Brody Clark, Callie Holt, Cierra Lindsey, Brevin Mendenhall, Kenzley Nation and Jacen Taylor.

Members who had been inducted in previous years included seniors Madeline Batcheler, Marissa Batcheler, Brynn Collier, Dylan Nickelson, Bradley Rhodes, Anna Schneider, and Marlee Thompson. Juniors included Abigail Holt and Brent Umphenour.

All of the members, including the new inductees repeated the NHS oath before the ceremony ended and the group retired to the foyer for a reception.

The full group of NHS members, including new members, recite the NHS oath.

41 views0 comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page